All in a Dress

The New York Times recently dissected Michele Obama’s sense of style comparing her to some of greatest fashionistas that ever walked the halls of the White House…. including Jackie O.
“Everyone knows that people respond to the way you look when you run for office,” André Leon Talley, an editor-at-large for Vogue, which featured Mrs. Obama as an “It” girl in its April issue, said last week in an interview. “A black Camelot moment is the right moment for the Obamas,” he added. “And so the faux pearls, the A-line dresses, the Jackie flip are obviously all part of how her image strategy has evolved.”
I would like to believe that a powerful, smart woman would be respected even in caftan or muu muu, but that is not the case. There is a certain sense of confidence that exudes from a woman, or a man for that matter, who pulls herself together in a beautiful, classic way. When I have a stressful day ahead of me I often find myself taking my wardrobe up a notch….facing client conflict or racing to meet a deadline always seems to be a bit easier when your wearing a great wrap dress:)
“What’s important here is that we’re not starting from zero with Michelle Obama,” said Ms. Collins of Vanity Fair. “I’m sure she’s being advised. But there’s nothing imposed on her that isn’t generated by who she is. She has a very definite sense of herself.”

Leave a comment